PDA

View Full Version : First paid job

Dave West
12-08-2007, 7:21 PM
My day job is as a computer animation and visual effects instructor at a school at Universal Studios Orlando. The school director wanted a small 3D logo to put on the corner of all the monitors. The logos are 1.1 by 2.1 inches each.
I'm using a plexi jig to hold the individual letters in place while the cement dries. The letters were cut out and the piece indexed to hold the red and white rectangles in place. Both rectangles are cemented to a piece of white plexi and everything is surrounded by a 1/8 thick black border. Everything except the border is 1/16. I had to use a white backing because the only 1/16 red plexi I could find was translucent. It needed a white backing or it looked black. Besides a backing gives me something stable to cement everything onto. Weld-On 3 with a hypodermic needle gave me much more control that the needle applicator I was using.

I quoted $10.00 each due to the extensive labor involved. The first order is for 30.

The jig needs to be adjusted so the letters are straighter, But all in all I'm satisfied.
This is the prototype.

Dave

David Lavaneri
12-08-2007, 8:20 PM
Dave,

Beside the job being priced in the "gift" category, it's a nice piece of work.

Congratulations on the first paid job.

David "The Stunt Engraver" Lavaneri

Dave West
12-08-2007, 9:11 PM
Dave,

Beside the job being priced in the "gift" category, it's a nice piece of work.

Congratulations on the first paid job.

Dave,

What would you price this at?

Dave

David Lavaneri
12-08-2007, 9:40 PM
Dave,

No particular price in mind, but you stated that it was a laborious endeavor.

From your description of the process, I'd agree whole-heartedly.

My labor charge is $80 per hour, and I use that as a baseline for the work I perform.

I've often found myself in the position of making more than that amount and I certainly take advantage of those occasions.