PDA

View Full Version : Which plane?

Larry VanWinkle
12-06-2007, 9:03 AM
I am trying to decide which type of plane I need and then which manufacturer. I would mostly use the plane for flattening work, be it panels and boards (removing machine marks and surface preperation). Also I would like to use it to square up and clean up tenons. I do not know if one plane can do all of this and if so which one(s)? Being a newbie I see there is a lot to choose from - bench, smoothing, jack, block, etc. I have been looking at Lie-Neilson and Veritas but I just cannot decide. I am willing to spend some money for quality and reliability but I also want to spend it wisely. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

David Weaver
12-06-2007, 9:16 AM
To get a plane that will be good at flattening and smoothing, I would get a #5 1/2 or a #6 sized plane. It doesn't really matter where it comes from. LN and LV would both be fine, and a well tuned stanley bailey would be OK, too - but it would have to be very well tuned. I would personally get a LN or LV as a first plane, because it sort of teaches you what level a bailey plane should be capable of if you fettle it enough. Without that, I don't think you can sort of "calibrate" your expectations high enough.

Cleaning Tenons is probably an easier job for a rabbeting block plane - Lie Nielsen makes a fantastic one.

I think if you try to find one plane that does both of those well, you'll not be happy with it. I would make that a separate purpose.