PDA

View Full Version : Block plane parts for a noob

Gregory Lyons
12-04-2007, 8:34 PM
I'm a relative novice to woodworking and hand tools in particular. Most of what I have done to date has been hacked together with the tailed tools that I've got as well as a few chisels.

I have a Handyman smoother that I got from my dad, who probably only used it once or twice. I got it tuned up reasonably well, and have been playing around trying to get a feel for it.

The other day I picked up 4 planes from a local craigslist poster. For $45 I got a #10 1/2 smooth rabbet, a #27, a #9 1/2 block plane and a Millers Falls #75B block plane. They're all in reasonably good condition I suppose, and I think they'll be quite serviceable with a little work. I don't know if this was a great deal, but I'm satisfied and it beats what I've seen at the local flea market.

My only problem is that the #9 1/2 is missing the front knob and adjustment lever for the front sole. What is the best way to find a replacement for this?

Thanks,

~g

Casey Gooding
12-04-2007, 8:57 PM
Congrats on the planes!! The 10 1/2 is worth much more than you paid for the set. Parts for the 9 1/2 are easy to find. Check on the auction site or www.antique-used-tools.com (http://www.antique-used-tools.com). Bob Kaune runs the site. Will almost always have what you need.
Best of luck with it.

David Tiell
12-04-2007, 11:05 PM
Greg,
I agree with Casey, you got a real bargain on the 10 1/2 alone! Really nice find there. As for the parts for the 9 1/2, I've got extras laying around. Tell you what I'll do. If you donate $6 to Sawmill Creek to upgrade to contributor status, then send me a PM with your mailing address, I'll send you a knob and lever. According to Bob's site, he want's $15.95 each for them, so it could save you some money, and at the same time give you some additional user privileges here on the Creek.

Dave

jonathan snyder
12-04-2007, 11:35 PM
Gregory,