PDA

View Full Version : Another Bandsaw Information Need

Steve Gayle
12-03-2007, 8:39 PM
I am about to pull the trigger on upgrading my saw. I have look at Laguna 18" HD, Agazinni 20" (price is less than the Laguna), Minimax MM16, Jet, Delta, Steel City, and Shopfox. Here are a few of my questions:

1) Why such a price difference?
2) Can the Shopfox/ Steel City tension a Lenox blade properly?
3) Is the extra speed worth the price?
4) please help

I am a hobbyist that want to do some resawing, as well as regular band saw work.

I think that I am going crazy and do not want to make the wrong decision.

John Thompson
12-03-2007, 8:59 PM
(1) The Steel City and Shopfox are made on the Pacific Rim opposed to MM.. Laguna.. Aggi made in Europe. More cast iron in the Italian BS's and more is paid for labor in Europe than Taiwan-China.

(2) I can tell you for a fact that the Steel City 18" & 20" can with their double spring (the 16" has doubles also). I cannot speak for the Fox as I have never tensioned on that saw.

And BTW... you didn't mention what width Lennox. You don't need a full 1" carbide blade to re-saw. A 3/4" is fine and you can probably get by nicely with a 1/2" as I and many others did for years.

(3) I don't think you are paying for extra speed with the Italians.. again you are paying for more cast iron, higher labor and a larger motor in most cases if.. if you buy the top of line Italians. The cheaper models that those companies offer don't come from the same plant and are certainly not the saw of the front liners. But... you will pay to have the name on the side.

Good luck with your quest...

Sarge..

Steve Gayle
12-03-2007, 9:20 PM
So your recommendation is for the Steel City?

John Thompson
12-04-2007, 1:45 AM
So your recommendation is for the Steel City?