PDA

View Full Version : Cedarberg Static Phase Converters

Tim McCready
12-03-2007, 7:58 PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the forums here and have a question about Cedarberg static phase converters. I've been looking into various phase conversion schemes recently, and had just about settled on an American Rotary converter when someone at a local motor repair shop told me about Cedarberg. Their static converter is less than $200, and the guy at the repair shop insisted it would have no problem getting my 5HP 3-phase jointer started.

Has anyone had first-hand experience with a Cedarberg static phase converter, and if so, what did you think?

Lastly, I know their are kits out there for DIY rotary phase converters, but that's just not for me as I'm not a skilled electrician...at all!

Thanks in advance for your replies!

Best,

Tim

Fred Voorhees
12-03-2007, 8:27 PM
Let me sidestep this thread for a second and say.....Tim, were you aware that you have the same name as last years World Of Outlaws DIRT Late Model champion? I would guess probably not...but here is a picture of him in action from this past season. I know this young man and have spoken to him numerous times over the past few years when he competed here in the Northeast in dirt track modified stock cars.

Ok, now back to your thread. Sorry.:D

Mike Heidrick
12-03-2007, 11:26 PM
Hi Tim. I have not used that model of static phase converter at all. I have used the Autogen 3-7HP model sold by Grizzly to start my Delta 50-764 5HP single stage dust collector. It works great. I have wired in an ideler 3phase motor as well but do not even use it much as it works perfect without it running. I bought it used for $100 shipped. They can be found fairly cheap. I did have to do my own wiring.

There are some extremely smart electrical guys here and they can tell you what you need.

Brian Ross
12-03-2007, 11:27 PM