PDA

View Full Version : Installing Floor Tile Over Vinyl Flooring

Jeff Wright
12-02-2007, 10:34 PM
I am having porcelain tile installed on our floors. One of our rooms currently has vinly flooring installed. It appears to be firmly attached to the terrazo cement floor underneath. The vinyl still has its shiny surface.

I just finished removing vinyl flooring in the kitchen prior to laying the porcelain and it was a big pain to do. I tried using my Fein Multipurpose tool without success. Ended up using a hammer and rigid window glazer's knife, chipping two inches at a time. I don't want to go through that again if I can help it.

1. Have you ever installed tile over top of vinyl?
2. Did you use a bonding agent prior to applying the multi-purpose thinset?
3. Did you abrade the vinyl surface (by sanding or some other method) to rough it up to help insure a better bond?
4. Has the installation held up without joint failures?

Tom Henry
12-02-2007, 10:41 PM
I am no professional but I was told that any give in the floor would end up in a loose tile. I would say putting it on top would be a bad move.

Matt Meiser
12-02-2007, 10:47 PM
My aunt just did her kitchen and every pro she talked to wanted to do it that way. Her house was built about 1978 and there was concern that the floor might contain asbestos. She was told that encapsulating it under a layer of cement board and tile is considered to be an acceptable method of managing it. In the end she did it herself and ripped up the vinyl and underlayment.

Eddie Watkins
12-02-2007, 11:34 PM
It really is messy to take up. I have always pulled up the vinyl because it tends to come loose when it is exposed to moisture for long periods of time like when cement or grout is drying (DAMHIKT). By sanding it before you put down the tile, it could create cuts/openings to allow the moisture to penetrate easier. I personally don't believe it will stay down much longer than it takes a check to clear.
Eddie

bill kiss