PDA

View Full Version : Fettle Four Fun

Jim Koepke
12-02-2007, 2:21 PM
I am fairly new to the Creek, but have been sliding down the slope for a while.

My interests in woodworking started a few years ago when some chairs were wanted for our back yard. Not liking what was available through the local merchants sent me on a mission to figure out how to build my own. A trip to the library produced a book from 1937 by a high school shop teacher that had a working drawing for an Adirondack chair.

At the time, income was low ambition was high. The first one was made from wood scavenged from old pallets. A few were made this way then I started buying wood from the local big box. Made some for friends and even sold a few.

This was before any knowledge of the slippery slope.

Fast forward to the present.

I have owned a few Stanley #4 planes. Most of them I have just sharpened the blade and used it a little and sold or left on the shelf waiting to sell. For the last couple of years a #3 has been more to my liking.

I have bought a few planes for parts. It is often cheaper to buy a broken plane or what looks like a bucket of rust than it is to buy just the part. A broken base can come in handy at times when working on handles, knobs and other parts. A few of these have been cut down and filed smooth so they can be used in a vice with a mounted handle or frog. One of the parts planes that came my way was in pretty poor shape. The wood was good, but the sole looked like it had been stored in a shallow pool of water.