PDA

View Full Version : Recent Project: Cherry End Table

M Smith
11-28-2007, 10:17 AM
I finished this about a month ago and am finally getting around to getting pictures up. This is made entirely out of cherry (save for the drawer bottom). I did not make the legs, but the rest came from cherry that my father had in his basement for probably 50 years. Because my father had had the cherry for so long, I was very nervous about messing it up! It probably took me about six months from start to finish, primarily because I didn't want to rush anything. Kids, work, and other more grown-up responsibilities always seemed to get in the way during that period.

Anyways, here it is. Comments/critiques welcomed. The top was joined using a biscuit joint, as were all the other joints. I'm still a newbie and don't have any of those cool tools (Festool, etc.) yet. This is my first project with "moving" parts. It is by no means perfect, or even close, but I'm still pretty happy with the way it turned out.

Regards,
Mark

Roy Wall
11-28-2007, 10:24 AM
Mark -

Nicely done indeed! Very cool using your Dad's wood - it does make it more personal and you should be proud of your work - I'm sure Dad is too!

Love the underbevel........

alex grams
11-28-2007, 10:26 AM
very nice, i like the simplicity of it.

Bill White
11-28-2007, 10:45 AM
Mark, your project looks good. Don't get tangled in the thought that Festool will make you a better woodworker. It seems from your pics that you are well on your way without them. Learn to work well with what you have. The tools will sometimes make the work go faster, smoothter, etc., but not always better.
Stay at it. Your respect for the old wood will serve you well.
Bill

Bob Oehler
11-28-2007, 10:46 AM
Very Nice Work
It looks like you did a wonderful job on the table.

Good luck with your future projects.

Take Care
Bob Oehler

Gary Muto
11-28-2007, 11:02 AM
Nice work. I wouldn't admit to any mistakes. Enjoy it.

Frederick Rowe
11-28-2007, 11:02 AM