PDA

View Full Version : Goodman furnace - any good?

Andrew Thuswaldner
11-27-2007, 6:47 PM
I have to make a decision about putting a new furnace into a house that I am renting out. Can anyone give me advice about Goodman furnaces? My contractor is recommending this furnace as a good unit for a rental.
thanks, Andrew

Randy Denby
11-27-2007, 8:33 PM
I've been installing units for 30+ years. Goodman/ Janitrol/ GMC are considered the bottom of the barrel. Electronic boards are replaced in one of my customers units on average every other year.The limit switch above the heat exchanger was made out of plastic up until last year....it was replaced yearly....as it warped into the heat exchanger ? :rolleyes:
I went on the Parade of Homes last year and was amazed at all the high end homes having these units.
If you need a cheap quick fix, then they will do. Just dont expect good service in the long run.

Andrew Thuswaldner
11-27-2007, 8:47 PM
Randy,
Thanks for the feedback. What would you recommend?

Terre Hooks
11-27-2007, 9:55 PM
Goodman is junk. Junk-i-trol.

I'd reccomend Trane or Lennox. Yep, they are going to be the most expensive. But the phrase "you get what you pay for" has never been more true in the world of HVAC equipment.

Ken Fitzgerald
11-27-2007, 9:59 PM
My house is 40 years old. I replaced the original furnace and a/c about 9 years ago with another Lennox. Expensive....yeah.......Reliable....I'm satisfied. I think I'd buy one of the quality brand and models. JMHO.

Randy Denby
11-27-2007, 10:03 PM