PDA

View Full Version : Starting an Engraving Business - Is it worth it?

Bryan Cowan
11-27-2007, 1:42 PM
Currently, I am an Industrial Engineering Technician for a company in the Instrumentation industry. It's my job to improve processes, reduce costs, the whole nine yards.

One particular process we have been doing for way before my time is roll stamping a couple of our product lines. Roll stamping is quick and cheap, but it's not very flexible and requires manual labor.

I went to a tradeshow in Chicago this past September where I visited an Epilog booth. They showed me what their FiberMark laser system can do and I was highly impressed. The experience was almost like a virus because I've been hooked ever since. While trying to get a FiberMark system into our facility, I began pondering the possibility of doing the same thing with a CO2 laser system on my own at home.

I've been doing a lot of research and came across many suppliers of laser systems, etc. I've narrowed my decision to an Epilog Mini 24. I have the quote for the system with accessories and this is where I began to question the entire idea.

For those with these systems, or similar systems, you know the prices of owning one. Is it worth my money and time to invest in a laser system and perhaps start a business from it? I have countless ideas of markets and people I can target, but I don't know to what extent business will actually be (and I suppose no one ever does). I have absolutely no experience in engraving. I do have experience in running my own business which I also currently do out of my garage (ceiling mounts for home and business projectors). That business takes up ample time as it is, so I'm in the process of outsourcing some of that work.

I understand I will get out of it, what I put in. I have a very comfortable job here, but unfortunately I always want to keep moving and stay busy, which is something that doesn't necessarily always happen here.