PDA

View Full Version : Flickering Lights

Peter Meacham
11-25-2007, 9:30 AM
My house lights flicker whenever a motor (fridge, disposal, compactor, washer, dryer, etc) turns on.

Any electricians here that can advise things to check. I was thinking there could be an load balance issue between the two 110V legs coming into the house where one leg has much more of a load than the other - any validty in that or any other suggestions please.

Thanks. Pete

David G Baker
11-25-2007, 10:23 AM
I had a similar problem. I am not an electrician but I do a lot of my own electrical work. I checked every thing in my house that I thought could be causing the problem. I wouldn't have been overly concerned if the problem had been occurring since the time I purchased my home but the problem started long afterward.
I couldn't find the source of the problem so I called my utility company and they sent out a tech. He did all of the things that I had done but couldn't locate the problem either and was ready to give up. As a last resort he killed power at the pole and pulled my meter to check the tightness of the wire lugs. The two hot lugs were as tight as the should be but the neutral lug was very loose. He tightened the screw and solved the problem.
The flashing lights would only happen when a heavy electric load, like my washing machine, would start up.
Another possible cause is too many appliances on one circuit. When my washing machine starts some lignites on that circuit dim, that is caused by not having a dedicated circuit. I am in the process of re-wiring my whole house to correct the overloaded circuits.

Mike Williams
11-25-2007, 3:39 PM