PDA

View Full Version : First Project **PICS**

Mark Stutz
02-14-2004, 1:24 AM
I have been around a few months, but haven't posted a whole lot. I'm pretty new to both computers and woodworking. Found another unnamed, anonymous forum, but didn't like the personal attacks, so this is my online home now. Was not able to post pics before , no matter what I tried. Since this is such a visual bunch I didn't jump right in. I finally have my own computer--faster, and new OS. So.......

I've been tool coll-, er, woodworking for about 6 or 7 years, with a 3 year hiatus. Selling a house, storing the shop, setting up again, flooded out... but that's too long a story. This was my very first real project. I designed this computer desk for my son, to fit into a narrow alcove. I'm posting this to show all the new mwmbers that we are not all incredible craftsmen. I'm thinking about recent posts-- terry's EC and table, CD cabinets, quilt racks, etc.

All in all I was elated that I could actually build something "from scratch". I was also so frustrated that I swore I would never build furniture again. Why? I didn't have wonderful teachers like all of you. At the time I had a table saw, router, brand new benchtop planer. Note--no jointer. What a stuggle. Construction was frame and panel, using mortice and tenons. Mortices were drilled out and cleaned up with my brand new, RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX MARPLES, using a RUBBER MALLET. I had no idea they needed to be sharpened. I didn't know what honing meant. I had no clue about rotary cut or flat cut plywood. I attempted to clean up the edge banding with my BRAND NEW Record #4 bench plane, (remember I had no sharpening stuff, or even knew it was needed) because I vaguely had an idea that's what I should do. Why would I want one of those itty-bitty toy planes-- a block plane. All of this done in my 40 degree garage. I could go on but I'm sure you get the picture.