PDA

View Full Version : How do I fix this Door Separation??

Kris Hammer
11-19-2007, 7:34 PM
The joint at the top-hinge area is separating a little at the top - see attached. The manufacturer recommends gluing (they use Titebond II).

I tried a 4' bar clamp diagonally to test if I could bring it together, but I can only close the gap about 60% (my torque limitation on the handle).

Does anyone have any recommendations on how to bring it together, how to get the glue down in there, and what glue to use? I had planned on trying Sumo glue.

Be easy on the wood-newbie...

"Jason Belous"
11-19-2007, 7:52 PM
May or may not be best for your situation but I am a finish carpenter by trade and do historical restoration work and architectural trim for a living and typicaly when this happens I'll actually set up a spreader clamp and split the joint even farther. this will allow me to get more t-b- three in their and then use a 3"screw through the jamb side and plug with proper grained plug. Match your grain, sand, stain and should be as good as new. You maby get some better options here but that's my solution. I am assuming this is as entry door?

Ben Grunow
11-19-2007, 7:53 PM
My experience with that type of thing is that no glue will really hold that forever. The surfaces are not clean wood and the glue joint has already failed due to what appears to be a warping stile on the door which is a huge piece of wood and if you bend it back witha clamp, I suspect that the wood fibers will tear/split instead of hold.

I would suggest cleaining things out the best you can and filling the gap with a thickened epoxy that is tinted dark (heard of someone here using coffee grounds) to look like a grain line. Just MHO but I have done that before and had no luck.

Only other thought would be a long screw or 2 in the side of the door to hold things together additionally.

Ben

Todd Jensen
11-19-2007, 8:52 PM