PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Maple Cradle

David Bodkin
11-17-2007, 12:54 PM
I've been working on a cradle for my daughter who is due in Jan but I cannot decide on a finish for it. It's made of regular soft maple...no stripes or bird's eye. I can't figure out what finish I want to use on it. I want something safe so I will probably use some shellac but other than that I don't know. So, I was wondering what finishes you all might suggest? This is my first time working with maple so I don't have much experience with it. I've looked around some on the forum but haven't had much luck finding info on finishing regular maple.

Thanks!
David

Todd Burch
11-17-2007, 8:09 PM
What are your capabilities for applying a finish? (What equipment do you have?) What color (approx.) do you want it? Got a picture?

You didn't indicate if you wanted to stain it, dye it, paint it or just clear it.

Are you trying to match / coordinate with anything else? Do you need to hide any mistakes or emphasize any joinery?

There are thousands of options. Narrow it down for us.

Todd

Jim Becker
11-17-2007, 8:36 PM
All finishes sold today are "safe" when fully cured. That said, shellac is a great finish and if you use a blond or super blond version you'll have very little alteration of the color of your maple. If your cradle is one of the designs that features a lot of detail and/or spindles, it will likely be best if you have spray capability, however. If note, consider using a wiping varnish. Mix any oil-based varnish of your choice 50/50 with mineral spirits and apply using a lint-free towel or rag. You'll need 8-12 coats to approximately equal 2-3 brushed on coats, but you'll have a nice, easy to apply finish.

Steve Schoene
11-17-2007, 9:08 PM
Once they have fully cured (around a month) any clear finish will be fine as far as safety goes.