PDA

View Full Version : Practicing for the ornament exchange

Bill Wyko
11-16-2007, 7:53 PM
This is my first attempt at an ornament. Or an egg with windows and a clown hat.:o I didn't put much effort in the finish, it was only practice for the real thing.:D

Robert McGowen
11-16-2007, 7:59 PM
I would like to trade ornaments with Bill please! :D:D:D:D
Practice looks like it is paying off! Nice job.

Bonnie Campbell
11-16-2007, 9:04 PM
His 'practice' looks better than my 'trade'. Oh well, I tried my best :o

Bernie Weishapl
11-16-2007, 10:23 PM
Looks great Bill. Well done.

Henry C. Gernhardt, III
11-17-2007, 2:55 AM
That's a first attempt? Wow! I'm just speechless.

Bill Wyko
11-17-2007, 11:12 AM
Thanks guys. I glued the ends of 4 sticks together, turned a U shape out of the center, cut the glued ends off. Then I did a 180 degree turn with each piece individually and glued it back together and turned the outside. Really pretty easy. Aside from drying time it only took an hour or so. Someone had sent me an e-mail with this technique a while ago so I thought I'd try it. I don't know who sent it but thanks a bunch. I'm sure it was a Creeker. :)

Henry C. Gernhardt, III
11-17-2007, 1:44 PM
Got a copy of that technique? I'd love to see it.

Bill Wyko
11-17-2007, 2:25 PM
The wonderful service from earthlink lost all my e-mails twice now so It's gone. I'll try to take pics of the next one I make though.

John Hart
11-17-2007, 7:03 PM
I tried one of them inside out thingies once. I didn't take pictures....and I won't!!!:o

Nice job Bill!!

Johnathan Bussom
11-17-2007, 11:33 PM
Bill,
Beautiful job, I had to read this post cause of "first attempt" posted by you!
I know you do great work from your past posts that I looked at but did not realize you didn't do hollow forms, I HAVE NOT DONE any either YET!! But it might be possible for me to spark an interest to learn after looking at your "first attempt" INSPIRATION might be the word I am looking for!