PDA

View Full Version : planer advise foor a newb?

John Kali
11-13-2007, 12:28 PM
Hello, I am just getting into woodworking and I need a planer. I did some searching but didn't quite find what I wanted. Can you guys/gals point me in the right direction for a sub $500.00 planer.
Thanks in advance, John K.

Matt Day
11-13-2007, 1:07 PM
If you've got $500, the Dewalt DW735 is just a bit more at $529 right now at the jungle and is a great planer from all the reviews I've read. I've got the DW734 and have no complaints.

alex grams
11-13-2007, 1:07 PM
most everyone will throw in these models:

Dewalt 735 (roughly $500, maybe up to $550, and most all recommend infeed/outfeed tables, which cost another 50$ or so). Disposable 2 sided blades.

Dewalt 734 (same as 735, but only 1 speed). Around $300-$350.
Resharpenable blades (depending on how confident you are that you can get them to be even sharp edges). Most claim that this does well enough on its own that you don't need the second, lower speed that the 735 offers.

Delta 22-580. Around 400. Good reviews for the most part.

Ridgid TP1300LS. Around 350. Most people seem hesitant on this because of the availability of replacement blades (to which i cannot attest). But those who do have it seem to be impressed with it.

Other ones not listed:

Makita
Grizzly has one people list
A few craftsman that people seem to like.

Hope this helps.

Jason Beam
11-13-2007, 1:23 PM
Dewalt 734 - best bang for your buck.

You don't need two speeds. It comes with feed tables and a dust port (unlike the 735). It's only 1/2" narrower (12.5") and the blades are NOT disposable :)

John Kali
11-13-2007, 1:37 PM
Wow, great replies, thanks guys!! Looks like one of the two Dewalt models mentioned will likely be my choice

Greg Cole
11-13-2007, 2:12 PM
John,