PDA

View Full Version : DAP Plastic Resin Glue Question

Aaron Cain
11-11-2007, 10:50 PM
Hey Guys,

I was just using some DAP Plastic resin glue for a complicated table glue up and I have never used this particular adhesive before. When I was mixing the glue as the directions indicated I found the mixture to be too dry to apply to the table. So I decided to add more water until it reached the Heavy cream mixture that was indicated by the directions. I found that the more I stired the mixure it would thicken very quickly and then mixture would get slightly chunky. Is this the consistancy that I should have? Am I doing something wrong? Is their something wrong with the glue? Are the joints in the project compromised?

Thanks
Aaron

Bob Smalser
11-11-2007, 11:15 PM
Look at the expiration date on the can. I've found UF resin glues cease to mix well when their shelf life has expired.

Aaron Cain
11-11-2007, 11:56 PM
I checked the side of the tub that I just purchased and their is no expiration date. I do have the number to the company and I think I will have to call them tommorow to figure out if that is what could be causing the problem. I also used chilli water when I first prepared it. I am not sure if that could have had an effect. If anyone else has any input please let me know

sascha gast
11-12-2007, 5:24 AM
there is an expiration date, might be hidden in some code, I think 6 months or so. i noticed that too, trouble with texture of mix.
i usually buy new before a big project. love this stuff

Bruce Haugen
11-12-2007, 7:39 AM
According to the DAP site (http://www.dap.com/docs/tech/00030201.pdf), the shelf life is a minimum of one year. I've never had a problem with the stuff lumping up like you describe.

Bruce

Randy Klein
11-12-2007, 7:48 AM
I also used chilli water when I first prepared it.

What's chili water?

Bob Smalser
11-12-2007, 8:30 AM
http://cpadhesives.com/Using_Urea_Resins.php

Mix: