PDA

View Full Version : turning deer antler into pens

John Nowack
11-10-2007, 11:21 AM
I drew my uncles name for chistmas--would like to turn him a pen from some dear antlers he has collected over the years. I currently only have 7 mm mandrel and slim line pen kits that I turn into various thickness pens.

Most of the bone or antler pens I have seen seem to be to be a differnt kind of kit.

Basically the questions are:
Any pointers on turinng and preping blanks for turning antlers (they are not very big)
Do you think 7 mm pen line with work to creat something for him.
Can you finish is with standard sand paper and friction polish

I am a novice so the less complicated the better

Thaks for you advise

John Hart
11-10-2007, 12:06 PM
John,
Last year, my Amish neighbor asked me to turn him a bunch of antler pens for a school auction. I had a half dozen slimline kits and a half dozen Americana kits to work with. Both went well and I varied the shapes somewhat on the slimlines to offer some uniqueness to each piece. I found the antler to be fairly pleasurable, although the smell of burning hair eventually got on my nerves.:rolleyes:

But, all in all it went well. The subtle color variations in the antlers made it an art to cut the blanks just right. Remember that there is marrow in the center and the solid colorful part is around the outside. Also remember that the actual material left after turning is very thin.....sooooo...if you drill down through the center of the marrow, there's a good chance that your pen will be mostly marrow, which is a "rough" look and feel. If you drill at an angle, you'll get some rough and smooth variations over the length of the pen.

Try to keep your two blanks matched up from the same antler section. The color variations from antler to antler are just enough to glare obviously in the finished product.