PDA

View Full Version : Kitchen cabinet designs

John Kendall
11-08-2007, 3:14 AM
I did some searching, but wasn't quite able to find the information on how to design a good strong kitchen cabinet to hold 1.25" granite cabinet tops. I am a novice at building such creatures and if anyone knows what I need to get this project underway, I'd greatly appreciate the input.

I am hoping to use face framing, if that's of any help.

Thanks!!! :D

Henk Marais
11-08-2007, 4:52 AM
John

We produce european style cabinets made from chippboard, wich is basicaly upright pannels (16mm chip) connected with brases.

The secret is to not make the cabinets to big. I find that 450mm (18inc) works well.

Asthetically this also works well because the door dimensions (720mm x 450mm) is the golden ratio and looks good.

Hope this helps.

Jeffrey Makiel
11-08-2007, 7:06 AM
Henk...you made an interesting point about door dimension ratio. Thanks.
-Jeff :)

Greg Robbins
11-08-2007, 7:13 AM
Here's a pretty good book that will get you started and show you the basics of kitchen cabinet making.

http://www.amazon.com/Building-Traditional-Kitchen-Cabinets-Completely/dp/1561587974/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1194524131&sr=1-2

mike wacker
11-08-2007, 7:39 AM
I've found this book to be pretty helpful.

http://www.amazon.com/Building-Kitchen-Cabinets-Udo-Schmidt/dp/1561584703/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_b/002-0015580-2423270

Hunter Wallace
11-08-2007, 9:14 AM
I just picked up that Kreg pocket screw jig thingy to do my
own cabinets and found that the instructions they give you
for building cabinets were really good. I've built two other
kitchens using other methods and am really suprised at how
easy and well the pocket screw system works...I mean,
that's pretty much why it was invented, so I guess that
makes sense:p
The pocket screw system also excels at face frame construction,
so I would highly recommend the Kreg, no matter the style
or detail of your cabinets.

frank shic
11-08-2007, 9:25 AM