PDA

View Full Version : What Kind of Drawing/Drafting Tools?

john lawson
02-11-2004, 8:29 AM
Started on a new project and found myself at my sons tiny drawing board. My back and neck ached after a few hours of this. I started looked in the classified for an old drafting machine/table and started wondering:

What do the "Creekers" use to draw up their plans? CAD or old style drafting tools like a T-Square and triangle, or Drafting Machines such as Vemco, Bruning or Mutoh?

If I go CAD how long is the learning curve? What is the best CAD program for Woodworking ( developed database of symbols and objects)? I like using a computer, but find that I am not very good at using one versus a pencil. It's like that commercial on TV when the young girl says to her dad, "your so analog". Her dad asks "Is that good"? She answers with a smile, "it's quaint".

So, are you analog or digital?

Bill Ryall
02-11-2004, 8:53 AM
I am an engineer by trade, and as such, I have CAD programs on both my Mac and PC.

That being said, for woodworking, I EXCLUSIVELY use paper and pencil. T square and Triangles, no drafting machine. As a matter of fact, I was up late last night finishing up drawings for a built in I have been commissioned for.

After dealing with these durn computin' devices for a living, I want to come home and get away from them. I also find the "analog" drafting very relaxing.

Bill R.

Ralph Steffey
02-11-2004, 8:58 AM
I am an engineer by trade, and as such, I have CAD programs on both my Mac and PC.

That being said, for woodworking, I EXCLUSIVELY use paper and pencil. T square and Triangles, no drafting machine. As a matter of fact, I was up late last night finishing up drawings for a built in I have been commissioned for.

After dealing with these durn computin' devices for a living, I want to come home and get away from them. I also find the "analog" drafting very relaxing.

Bill R.