PDA

View Full Version : Woodworking Table Top

Ralph Wilson
11-06-2007, 10:52 AM
I'm relatively new to woodworking and I'm building a table. I made the base out of red oak because it was plentiful and about half the price of birch or beech. I know that most table tops are made out of the latter two wood types. Is there some reason that I should not make the top out of red oak?

Norman Pyles
11-06-2007, 11:01 AM
Of the three woods you mentioned, I would use the oak.

Gary Keedwell
11-06-2007, 11:35 AM
There just seems to be certain woods that stand alone for certain applications. Maple IMNSHO seems to fit all the criteria for a great workbench top. Tight-grained, tough, fairly stable, finishes good ( oil- wax) and looks just right.:)
Gary

Glenn Clabo
11-06-2007, 11:51 AM
Ralph,
The only real issue with red oak is it has coarser grain. However, it's a minor problem so I'd go for it if that what's in your price range.

John Karam
11-06-2007, 11:58 AM
I've typically seen maple used for work benches but i cant think of a reason not to use oak.

Not to thread jack but since we are on the subject of work benches, what would you guys say about Alder table tops? i happen to have a lot of that around and was planning on using it for a work bench.

Craig D Peltier
11-06-2007, 12:14 PM
I've typically seen maple used for work benches but i cant think of a reason not to use oak.

Not to thread jack but since we are on the subject of work benches, what would you guys say about Alder table tops? i happen to have a lot of that around and was planning on using it for a work bench.

I know alot of upholsterers and couch builders use alder because it tends to not warp I believe.

Charles Wiggins
11-06-2007, 12:57 PM