PDA

View Full Version : limitations of a 6" jointer?

Bill Bryant
11-06-2007, 9:03 AM
I'm looking at either a 6" or an 8" jointer for my new woodworking shop. I'm thinking that this tool, along with my table saw and 13" planer will form the heart of my shop. I know the obvious: I can only lay a 6" board down on the 6" jointer instead of an 8" board, but I don't know in practical terms where this will be a limitation.

Do experienced woodworkers use 7-1/2" boards in glued-up panels? Can't you use a planer in some way to smooth a wider piece of lumber?

Y'all jump in here and tell me why I should spend the extra cash for those two extra inches on a jointer. (I'm comparing the Powermatic 54A and 60B in case it matters.)

Jameel Abraham
11-06-2007, 9:16 AM
I've been using a 6" for upwards of 10 years. And I'm thoroughly sick of it. Being restricted to 6" is a real pain and time waster. Get the 8 and even a 12 if you can afford it.

Personally, I'm waiting for a great deal on a 12" to come my way. At this point (I'm not a hobbyist, but not rich either) I'm willing to wait for greater capacity instead of settling for less.

If I were in your situation, ditch the 6.

Experienced woodworkers generally use the widest boards they can, and they definitely don't like to rip them down just to joint them. There are fixtures you can make to mount a twisted board to that run through the planer, and for a hobbyist who has time, they work. But if you can afford a wide jointer it's the machine for the job.

Randal Stevenson
11-06-2007, 9:19 AM
I'm looking at either a 6" or an 8" jointer for my new woodworking shop. I'm thinking that this tool, along with my table saw and 13" planer will form the heart of my shop. I know the obvious: I can only lay a 6" board down on the 6" jointer instead of an 8" board, but I don't know in practical terms where this will be a limitation.