PDA

View Full Version : piping an air compressor

dale rex
11-04-2007, 5:49 PM
need alot of detailed info on piping in an air compressor. Some of my questions have to do with the drops. I read somewhere that you should install risers at each drop point to keep any condensation from getting into your tools. Is it good to install a ball valve at each drop? I am assuming that i should have a ball- shut- off -valve right at the compressor also. Where does the regulator/drier get placed? Right athe compressor aor at a drop point. I am most likeky going to have just two drops.I am stuck between using black iron or copper pipe. The black iron might be less expensive but will take longer to install, but the copper would definitely be easier to install. Is 1/2" sufficient?
Or is 3/4" better? Gonna be around a 50 ft run to the end of the line. I am a newbie at air compressors like this , so I need all the advice I can get.:D

Jim Becker
11-04-2007, 5:53 PM
I used 1/2" copper and it's worked fine. I didn't put risers/valves at most of my drops as the whole system is sloped back to the closet where I do have moisture taken care of. It's not that they are not a good idea as it is; rather, I didn't feel the need for my small system to go to that length.

Leland Berry
11-04-2007, 6:58 PM
:cool: Dale, some answers depend on your compressor. It needs
an accessable tank drain to blow out oil-water etc periodically. A ball valve located near the main outlet,
i.e. entering into your line, serves to shut air off in
the event of a line break. That said, Jim's suggestion is
correct re: small systems where the piping ALL runs up-
hill from the tank, so no drops are necessary. Also,
be certain to have an electrical shut-off in case a
belt breaks, or the pressure switch fails allowing the
motor/and or pump to run continuously, thereby breaking
something expensive. 1/2 " pipe runs are suitable for
most shop needs up to a 7 1/2HP pump (pump not motor)