PDA

View Full Version : Planing Bubinga and Bolivian Rosewood

Raymond Fries
11-04-2007, 5:26 PM
I am planning on resawing some 4/4 Bubinga and Rosewood and then running it through a planer to finish it off to 3/8" stock for some boxes.

It will be run through a 15" Powermatic planer. I do not have a drum sander and wondering if these two woods will plane smooth or chip because of their hardness. I have never worked with either of these woods before.

Will Bubinga and Rosewood come out of the planer real smooth?

Thanks for any help or suggestions.

Per Swenson
11-04-2007, 5:41 PM
Raymond,

The bubinga is going to be tough.

In order to get it smooth,

you will need alot of neutral grain filler

and sanding.

The rose wood will fair better.

Then again, nothing really comes out of a planer finished.;)

Per

Keith Cope
11-04-2007, 7:18 PM
Raymond,

You may have a tough go with the rosewood as well if it has much figure. Light passes will help.

Keith

Dan Lautner
11-04-2007, 8:27 PM
Maybe this is where a shelix head would help. Has anyone used a shelix head on these types of woods? I am planning a project with cocobolo and looking at upgrading to a shelix head.

Dan

Danny Thompson
11-05-2007, 12:02 AM
I resawed some 8/4 Bubinga and planed it in a Dewalt benchtop (DW734)--i.e., no special equipment. It came out beautifully smooth.

Seth Poorman
11-05-2007, 12:15 AM
Raymond,

You may have a tough go with the rosewood as well if it has much figure. Light passes will help.

Keith

And sharp blades !!!!!!!;)

Steve knight
11-05-2007, 12:27 AM
I have planed a lot of bubinga and rosewood and purpleheart and such. the harder tropicals tend to cut cleaner then American woods do. seldom do I get tearout with bubinga. well when I had some really curly bubinga I did but that was the exception. so you should have no real problems.

Matt Campbell
11-05-2007, 8:15 AM
My experience has been that bubinga comes out to an almost glassy surface once ran through the planer.