PDA

View Full Version : VERY Dark Stain

Tony Falcone
10-27-2007, 10:20 AM
Hi all; great forum!

I'd like to build a display cabinet using a very dark coffee color stain (black, no cream :)). It's a very popular look right now in store bought furniture especially in stores like Pottery Barn etc. I'm trying to decide what wood/stain combination to use. The stain they use is so dark that you barely see the grain of the wood (blasphemy I know), so I think it would be a waste to use something as nice as mahogany or walnut. I'd like to use a very tight grained wood that won't need filling so I'm thinking birch could be a good choice. I'm worried about blotching but guessing that the stain will be so dark that it will hide it.

I've ordered some dark TransTints and gel stains to try out and would like to topcoat with General PolyAcrylic Semi-gloss . I don't have access to spray equipment so all the finishing will be done by hand.

Any thoughts on how to achieve this look? I'm a novice so please spell it all out as clearly as possible.

Al Wasser
10-27-2007, 2:27 PM
This is a bit dangerous so be warned--- Make your own stain by mixing roofing tar and gasoline. You can get it as dark as you want by just increasing the tar. Mix it up good and try some samples. It does work good. Wipe it on and wipe it off. One you are happy with the mix be sure you have enough to do the whole job since the second batch may not match the first unless you measured carefully. Keep the smokers, pilot lights, etc away!!! I suppose you could also mix roofing tar and paint thinner and that might be a bit less hazardous

Tony Falcone
10-27-2007, 4:36 PM