PDA

View Full Version : Resawing on a Jet JWBS-14CSW (1hp) Bandsaw?

Danny Thompson
10-26-2007, 10:24 AM
I have the opportunity to buy a used Jet JWBS-14CSW bandsaw. It is 1 hp, and I believe is the same as the JWBS-14CS, but with the miter guage and fence thrown in.

I am a hobbyist with the expectation of cutting tenons, cutting curves, and doing some resawing (Padauk, Macore, Leopardwood) potentially wider than 6", so I would need to add a riser block. I won't be doing a ton of resawing, though, so speed isn't a real concern as much as effectiveness.

So, my question is is the 14CSW a decent saw for this kind of work? Or should I just wait until I can afford a 1 1/2 hp?

Jerry Allen
10-26-2007, 10:41 AM
If the price is right, go for it. If it is in nice condition and is less than $400. You may still have to spend some on tuneup, blades and add ons.

I have an old 14" Summit from HF I got in 1987. Lots of modifications to get it working right. Linkbelt, roller guides, wheel balancing, tension spring, removing the crappy stepped pulleys, added 6" riser, adding a tension adjustment extension and dust chute. The blade I use is a 1/2" x 105" Wood Slicer--great blade. The motor is only 3/4HP but I can cut 10" oak nice and straight. It's just slow. If I had the money, I'd get a Grizzly 0555X with a riser or better yet, the 17" G0513 2HP if I could afford it.

Doug Shepard
10-26-2007, 10:41 AM
That's pretty much the same saw I had and just wasn't happy with the resaw results
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=25068
Out of sheer frustration, I finally bit the bullet and bought a MM16.
Up to resawing about 6" (the non-riser block height) things were OK (not great), but started to go downhill as height increased. It's a nice BS but resawing isnt one of it's strong points.

Mike Cutler
10-26-2007, 12:33 PM
Danny.
I have the 14" Jet bandsaw.
I added Carter guides.
A Carter Cobra Coil Spring.
Re machined the tension assembly.
Added a riser kit.