PDA

View Full Version : Mortise "How to"

Ron Hedrick
10-26-2007, 8:29 AM
Forgive my ignorance, but, I am relatively new to woodworking and especially, the wonderful world of Neanderthal. In this area I am a total greenhorn. But I really want to learn. I have been using my bench chisels to make mortises. Wrong!! Well I have now been set straight to purchase and use Mortise Chisels. Which leads me to my question, “I have been using my chisels both with and against the grain to make my mortise? Can someone please tell me or point to me to a good source to learn how to make mortises the correct way using a mortise chisel. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance to all that respond.

Greg Cole
10-26-2007, 8:40 AM
Hi Ron,
Here is a link to some good info. As with anything I've read from Bob Smalser, it's pretty darn good. I find his posts highly informative even if they are on a subject I have no intent on doing (ie sharpening handsaws etc).
http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/readarticle.pl?dir=smalser&file=articles_608.shtml

I tried using a couple different techniques (Jeff Gorman's, Bob's....) and after a few practice sessions I wound up using a few tips from them all to fit my work habits & style.
Get a couple good chisels & mallet and start chopping. ;)
Happy chips!

Cheers,
Greg

Jon Toebbe
10-26-2007, 10:59 AM
Chris Schwarz wrote an article for Woodworking Magazine about chopping mortises. He compared something like 10 different techniques, and had some interesting comments on them. Personally, I've found Bob Smalser's advice to be excellent.

Speaking of green horns: if you're chopping mortises near the tops of table legs (to attach an apron, for instance), make sure you leave the legs a bit long or your levering out the chips might turn your mortise and tenon into a messy bridle joint. DAMHIKT. :o

Anchor Sarslow
10-26-2007, 1:09 PM
The only viable tip I can give as a beginner myself is..