PDA

View Full Version : Finish suggestions for mahogany

Ralph Wiggum
10-22-2007, 9:53 AM
Hello, this is a little drop front desk I have been working on. I built it from some mahogany scraps that I bought at a auction a few months ago. This is my first time building anything with mahogany. And most of my finish experiance has just been poly on oak trim and cabinets. So I am looking for some suggestions. I want to try to keep it simple, I see these finishing schedules that people post for some of there projects and am amazed at the number of steps they go through. I'm looking to try to keep it fairly light. I did try some Zinser pale shellac, and didn't like the look of it, I then tried it with some dark mahogany stain on top of the shellac and my wife thought it was two dark. I don't have a spray gun, so want to keep it to wipe on or brush on applications.
I also am going to need to fill the pores on some of the boards. I've never used a pore filler so need some suggestions on that too. Do the Borgs carry something like that? As that is about my only choices to buy stuff local, and I would rather not order something with out knowing exactly what I am getting.

Thanks in advance

Keith Beck
10-22-2007, 9:59 AM
Ralph,

First off, nice looking desk! I'm not a finishing expert by any stretch of the imagination, so take what I say with a grain of salt.

Anyways, I just made a mantle clock out of Mahogany and I finished it with Waterlox sealer followed by several coats of Waterlox Satin. It's an easy wipe-on finish and I think it made the Mahogany look great.

Keith

Jamie Buxton
10-22-2007, 11:37 AM
A simple-to-apply light-colored finish would be Minwax Wipe-on Poly.