PDA

View Full Version : Help Turning Bowl

john lawson
10-20-2007, 11:42 AM
I need to turn a bowl which will be used to make a bronze casting. An image of the bowl with dimensions is attached. As you can see the bowl is 16" in diameter.

I am fairly new to turning and this one needs to be done right. I have a Jet 1642 EVS lathe and a General purpose chuck that could hold the 2" bottom part of the bowl. Assuming I turn the 2" part first, will that be strong enough to hold the larger part of the bowl while turning? Turn everything outboard?

By the way, it will be mahogony, and I have wide boards around 2" thick which I can glue up.

Any and all suggestions are welcome

Al Wasser
10-20-2007, 2:25 PM
Yes your chuck will hold the bowl if the foot is done well. The problem you have is that your lathe will not turn a 16" bowl. Yes it says it will, but if you start exactly with a 16"blank, by the time you round it out and sand it, you will be lucky to have a 15 1/2" bowl. And yes this belongs under the turning section for the most suggestions

Jim King
10-20-2007, 7:39 PM
John: You are using a very soft and low grade wood into which you are going to pour a casting ? Or are you going to make the form from another material using the mahogany original ?

Dean Thomas
10-20-2007, 9:04 PM
Al's giving you good words there.

I'm not sure about your chuck. Is this a true wood chuck or a "general purpose" chuck that was really designed for a metal lathe?? Are there some teeth or other grippers on the inside of the jaws or are they smooth?

Make your tenon as wide as you can without causing the scrolling mechanisms to be exposed. Some call these "knuckle busters" and I'm sure you can figure out why. :rolleyes: After you've made your tenon as wide as possible, be sure not to make it too long! If you measure inside the jaws, from the shoulder of the top of the jaw to the metal body where the screws are, your tenon should be SHORTER than that.