PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Illustrator

Ralph Balloqui
10-19-2007, 2:35 AM
HI,
I was wondering does anyone use adobe illustrator with their laser?
Thanks
Ralph

Doug Griffith
10-19-2007, 10:03 AM
Exclusively.

Epilog laser with Illustrator CS.

Cheers

John Keeton
10-19-2007, 5:03 PM
Doug

I am very new to this and just in the research phase. Hope to purchase in the spring, but in my surfing around it seems that Illustrator is more favored in the graphics world generally, but doesn't seem to be popular for engravers. Do you find that it functions well for you and were you familiar with Corel when you made the choice?

Doug Griffith
10-20-2007, 11:09 AM
I've been using Illusrator (on a Mac) heavily since it came out in '87 so being able to use it with a laser cutter was a major decision when making the laser plunge.

Illustrator and Macs were tightly knit into the professional graphics world until Adobe migrated to Windows and fonts and the file system became more accessible to service bureaus. Corel running on a PC has always been a cheaper and more accessible solution for users. Developers know this and focus their resources on it because of it's larger consumer base (as well as a more open architecture). This is a big reason why most proprietary software is developed for PCs. Drivers for hardware such as laser cutters are in the same boat. This all my opinion and is not meant to start a Mac vs. PC, Illustrator vs. Corel bash.

I'm happy using Illustrator with a laser. There are a few idiosyncracies though. Post #556953 will shed some light. It really depends on what software you know best. Corel also has a much larger base of people using it with their laser cutters. The help they can provide should weigh heavily in your decision. Unless you're a pro Illustrator user, I'd probably go with Corel on a PC.

Cheers

Doug Bergstrom
10-22-2007, 8:04 AM