PDA

View Full Version : Footless Bowl

Jonathan Harvey
10-18-2007, 1:51 PM
Well Here is another completed bowl. I think this is number three. I may be trying things that are a little to hard for me but I like the challenge. This is a piece of spalted Elm that I got from my FIL's place. I like it better without the foot so I took it off. Please be brutally honest as this is the only way I can learn.

It is finished with shellac. Because I am new to this game I don't know what the better finishes are so I am learning as I go.

As you can see in the photos the bowl is full of tiny little holes that I assume must be from the bugs eating the wood. What would you do with these? Would you fill them or leave them as they are? Also if you wanted to fill them but still be able to see the holes how would you go about doing that? I would assume you would just keep adding shellac until the holes filled up?

Jonathan

Neal Addy
10-18-2007, 2:01 PM
This is a great bowl, Jonathan! Even more so for your third. Nice smooth curve and looks like a good finish.

I like it with no foot, too. What method did you use to reverse it?

I wouldn't touch the bug holes. They are character!

Jonathan Harvey
10-18-2007, 2:06 PM
What method did you use to reverse it?

I used what I think you guys call a jam chuck. A piece of wood on the headstock with a grove cut in it to the size of the outside diameter of the bowl then brought up the tail stock with tight pressure just to hold it their and finished off 90% of the bottom with nice light cuts. I finished of the last little bit with power sanding.

Mike Vickery
10-18-2007, 2:17 PM
I am known for my brutal honesty and I have to tell you it is a beautiful piece. The form looks great and I see no evidence of tool marks or tearout in your pictures. I am very picky about form and I think the form of this piece is perfect.