PDA

View Full Version : Today is day 4......

Dennis Peacock
10-18-2007, 9:07 AM
I've been dipping and chewing tobacco since I was twelve years old. Out of a deal I made with my oldest son, I have quit and today is day 4 of no tobacco. This has been in my life for 36 years and it has not been easy.

I told the LOML last night that I started eating everything in the house last night when I got in from work and we ALL know that I sure don't need to gain any weight. :rolleyes:
But....I will continue to take it one day at a time.

jeremy levine
10-18-2007, 9:15 AM
Quick start a very complicated project, this will give you hands and brain a distraction also get some gum ( just normal gum so you won't want to eat as much ).

Stick with it, it is the right thing, your son wants you around for a lot longer.

Jeff Bower
10-18-2007, 9:18 AM
Dennis, way to go!! It's hard to start, but it does get easier. I started chewing sunflower seeds when I quit. That helped quite a bit and gum when I couldn't do the seeds. You will thank yourself and you family will too! Plus you can't disappoint that son!:p Again Congrats and keep it up!!

Mark Rios
10-18-2007, 10:02 AM
A big and hearty congrats and a heapin' helpin' of encouragement to you Dennis for setting the example in your family. My family carries an addictive gene and we've had our share of addictions that have been fought. It's very hard but completely and totally the best thing for you AND your family.

Keep it up......ONE DAY AT A TIME.....................

Jim Becker
10-18-2007, 10:07 AM
Good for you. No matter how hard it is to quite, getting tobacco out of your life is an important thing. And for the food cravings, start keeping "healthy" snacks around, like fruit, pretzels (because they are baked), etc., rather than high-fat and salt content snacks. We have to do the same for our older girl...snacks are her soothing "drug of choice" when she's frustrated.

Ken Werner
10-18-2007, 10:08 AM
Hey Dennis,