PDA

View Full Version : Best bang for the buck...turning tools?

Jeff Yates
10-17-2007, 1:59 PM
Well I've been a lurkin...and workin' my behind off at the same time, and I'm ready to pull the cover off that ole lathe again and see if I can't figure it all out.

I've been using some of the cheapie Harbor Freight tools, and while they work I am getting tear out on Cherry, either I'm doing it wrong or I"m not getting the tools sharp enough....

So I'm kind of at a loss on where to go.

I figure best bet is to get a little better tool than the cheap $10 set from the Freight and see if that doesn't fix the problem.

I noticed someone was talking about the PSI Carbide Tipped might be a good buy, but any opinions on a decent set that I won't worry TOO much about destroying if it's my sharpening skills?

Chris Fierro
10-17-2007, 2:21 PM
I am a relative newbie, but when I bought the Windsor Design / HF chisel set, I also bought the $10 Pittsburgh set. No comparison. The $10 set has been useful for practicing sharpening, and that is about it. It seems to be a popular consensus that the $35 ish HSS set from HF is a good starter set--I am enjoying mine.

Bob Hallowell
10-17-2007, 2:47 PM
if your hf tools are the HSS version then they are decent tools. I have bought lots of tools and still use some of these almost every time turn. I have a feeling this might be a sharpening issue.

Bob

Neal Addy
10-17-2007, 2:57 PM
The tear-out problem could be several things. Without being there it's impossible for us to tell, but I'm tempted to say that the tools themselves are probably not the main cause. I'm not trying to talk you out of buying new tools (I'd never do that) but it might be best to learn to "dance with the one who brung you" before you go investing.

Dull tools, wrong grind, or overly aggressive turning are common culprits of tear-out. Sometimes its just the wood itself not wanting to cooperate.