PDA

View Full Version : Is Discount Tire Going Downhill?

Pat Germain
10-16-2007, 2:43 PM
I've been buying tires at my local Discount Tire Company for about seven years. Since I had five cars in the family, I bought a lot of tires. They always treated me well and provided good service. They even fixed a flat on my VW for free when I was still running factory tires.

Things changed last Saturday. I went to get new tires for my VW Jetta. I got about 50K from the factory Michelins, not bad for performance tires, and they worked great in the Colorado snow and ice.

I was all set to get another set of Michelins. The sales rep at Discount tire recommended Goodyear Eagle RSA tires. They were on sale for $79 each; pretty cheap. I agreed and bought the Goodyears.

When I started driving my Jetta, I heard a rumbling sound like you'd hear from off-road tires. The tires also didn't seem to handle nearly as well as the Michelins, yet they were supposed to be a performance all-season radial. Then I noticed one of the center caps was missing from my wheel.

I went online and did some research on the Goodyear Eagle RSA. Apparently, it's the worst tire Goodyear ever made. Almost every review said it handled poorly, especially in snow and ice and would wear bald at around 20k miles. There were also numerous reports of premature sidewall failure; complete with pictures.

Discount Tire exchanged the Goodyears for Michelins after I paid an additional $255. But why would they unload such lousy tires on me? Their own web site is full of bad reviews for those Goodyears, which it turned out were mounted backwards on my wheels.

Without going into even more detail, I had a few other problems as well. Before I go back to Discount Tire, have they been assimiliated by an evil company? Are they going downhill? Anyone heard anything about this?

Joe Pelonio
10-16-2007, 3:02 PM