PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on insurance: State Farm vs Allstate

Dan Mages
10-16-2007, 10:44 AM
Good morning.

Allison and I have shopped around for auto insurance quotes given our upcoming move to CT and found that Allstate is the best price available with State Farm, our current carrier, being about $200ish per year more expensive. The home insurance quotes are virtually identical. The coverage is the same except that State Farm is making me sacrifice my zero deductible on comprehensive and is offering me $100 instead. We have been with State Farm for about 10-15 years each and have been grandfathered in, which is worth a small premium, IMHO. Allstate also offers accident forgiveness and a reduced deductible for each year without an accident, but they were slow to respond to my calls for a quote, which worries me when it comes to them responding to a claim. I have no experience with Allstate, so I don't know if the lower rates are indicative of lesser service. Does anyone here have Allstate? What is your opinion of them? Is it worth paying less and losing our status with State Farm?

Thanks

Dan

David G Baker
10-16-2007, 11:04 AM
I used State Farm as my insurance carrier for over 20 years until their rates went up so far I started shopping around. My home and two vehicles were insured by them. I ended up going with AAA that at the time was quite a bit cheaper for the same amount and type of insurance. I now have Auto Owner's insurance on everything I own and it is about $400 a year cheaper than AAA.
You may be better off seeing an insurance broker and finding a company that fits your needs. Just because an insurance is very visible and advertises a lot does not necessarily make it a better company to use as your carrier.