PDA

View Full Version : OK I Give up BS

Jim C Bradley
10-15-2007, 7:21 PM
Hi all,

The "BS" in the title refers to Band Saw, not the other stuff.

A few weeks ago I was following a thread about loosening band saw blades. I made some kind of comment about the cheap, fast, easy way I do it. Two or more people on the thread asked for photos of what I have.

I am slow to respond because I cannot find out which thread it was. I am just learning how to post photos on SMC. I am still learning how to crop photos, etc. Or to put it another way---any excuse is better than none.

The three enclosed photos are: 1) the lever on the BS, 2) a close-up of the ballbearing between the BS frame and the threaded rod, and 3) a photo showing the drilled dimple in the end of the rod and the ballbearing that sits there.

In my quiries someone asked how I kept the ball in place. Even with all of the tension removed from the saw blade---in fact with tension reduced to where the blade could be removed easily---there is still the weight of the threaded rod itself sitting on the ball, keeping it in the dimple.

Someone else asked me if the blade tension would not drop off all by itself since I have made it so easy to increase or decrease tension. Oh yes, I can tension a 1/2" blade using only one finger on the lever. My response was that I have not used the system for prolonged periods of time. If the tension were to reduce, even slightly, I would notice that the lever had changed position even if I didn't notice it in the action of the blade when cutting. Also, the lever gives me tremendous leverage compared to a typical knob leverage and much more tremendous (is that English?) leverage compared to what bandsaw vibration could achieve.