PDA

View Full Version : Transtint

Randy Denby
10-13-2007, 10:21 AM
I am getting ready to spray some "Transtint" brand dye onto some soft maple. What do ya'll recommend mixing transtint with? Alcohol ? If so, what brand is a good one? This is my first time with dye...so be gentle :)
Thanks

Jamie Buxton
10-13-2007, 10:44 AM
I've sprayed Transtint using generic denatured alcohol from Home Depot. It worked fine. I used an HVLP.

Tim Sproul
10-13-2007, 12:24 PM
My experience mirrors Jamie's. Denatured alcohol works fine - Kleanstrip is the brand I find at any store I've looked here in the SF Bay area.

IME, spraying alcohol dye requires more attention to get even coloration compared to water....water you can saturate and clean up any drips but alcohol will evaporate very rapidly and leave the dye where you sprayed it. As a side note....be sure you're wearing a respirator rated for organic solvents....denatured alcohol has 5% toxic solvents that you want to limit your exposure to. The 95% that is ethanol isn't a big problem.....:-).

Jamie Buxton
10-13-2007, 1:26 PM
One more thought.... With the spray, you'll deposit dye color particles on the wood. They don't bond strongly to the wood. You can wipe them off with your hand, so you must clearcoat over them. I spray a waterborne clearcoat, and I've found that the dye particles migrate somewhat into the clearcoat. Sand after the second clearcoat, and you'll see that the dust is somewhat dye-colored. If you're spraying the clearcoat, this isn't a problem, but just a surprise. I'm not sure what would happen if you brushed the clearcoat on, but I'd be sure to test it before I did it on a real piece.

Steve Schoene
10-13-2007, 4:57 PM