PDA

View Full Version : pocket joinery and dadoes

Greg Muller
10-11-2007, 11:57 AM
I am a newbie to SMC although I have been a frequent reader and relied on many of your experts, uh expertise. Now I have a question that I haven't found previously addressed anywhere. I have been shown the strength of the pocket hole joinery and I am wanting to implement it in the building of mobile cabinets and tables, but have always relied on dadoes, biscuits, tenons, and through screws. I became interested in the pocket joinery since I would then have no screw heads showing or to plug and the mechanical join of the pocket screw seems very strong.

Here's the question; Has anyone tried using the two methods together? In other words, built the cabinet with dadoes and reinforcing with pocket holes in the same joints? I know I would have to use slightly shorter screws and be VERY careful that I didn't drive them through the backside of the "T", but is it worth it? Would the connection be any stronger, or am I just continuing my usual tendency to try to over-engineer everything?

Secondly, what pocket hole kit is best? So far, I am leaning towards the Kreg.

frank shic
10-11-2007, 12:17 PM
ditch the rabbets unless you're really hard up for alignment. the pocket screws will hold fine in 3/4" material. i like the old aluminum kreg jig without all the fancy doodads that the newer versions come with - you can find them on craigslist and ebay every once in a while. you do not need to buy the entire kit although i'm sure others will disagree. i had the kreg 2000 kit and almost never used the rocket or the minikreg. the vacuum attachment on the k3 is clever but i don't find it necessary unless you're going be boring A LOT of pocket holes like for a kitchen cabinet project in which case i'd rather use a router-driven pocket cutter like steve clardy's machine or the porter cable pocket cutter. you get less joint creep with the latter two options on face frames BTW.

Bruce Benjamin