PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a salesman

Scott Shepherd
10-10-2007, 2:31 PM
We have a guy who has apparently seen some potential in us and wants to start selling for us, paid on commission only. He has a full time job that he doesn't plan to quit, but he has a ton of contacts, contacts that are in the very places we have been trying to crack into.

He's already setup a meeting with a very large client with us, all before anything has been discussed about how the commission will work.

I have little experience in this area so I'm at a loss. What my gut tells me is a long way from the type of things he's speaking of. That's why I'm here.

I have a few questions :

1) What's a fair commission rate in this business?
2) What's a fair rate for jobs that repeat?
3) What happens if we go our seperate ways and have a good working relationship with the customers he set up? How's that work? Certainly he's not entitled to payment years after we go our seperate ways?
4) We're currently quoting some places that he says he has contacts in. So how's that work? We're already actively quoting there, so how's that work?

I'm sure I'll have a bazillion more questions, but that's about all for now. Hopefully someone can give me some insight.

Joe Pelonio
10-10-2007, 3:04 PM
I ran into the same questions when I first started in signs, and a guy approached me with that kind of offer.

The number 1 problem is that if he is not completely knowledgeable about your business, he is likely to make your company look bad when he cannot answer the questions. He could also be quoting way too little and cost you money.