PDA

View Full Version : Female woodworkers

Jason White
10-07-2007, 6:07 PM
I'm very curious as to how many of you woodworkers are women?

If you are, how did you become interested in woodworking? Are you a hobbiest or a pro? What types of projects do you build?

JW

Gary Keedwell
10-07-2007, 7:25 PM
Not me;) Although I admit I watch "Desperate Housewives" on TV.
Gary K.

Nancy Laird
10-07-2007, 7:38 PM
OK, I'll bite and be first.

I am a paralegal for a sole practitioner attorney in Albuquerque, after having been in the clerical field for most of my working life. I intend to retire on December 21, 2007 (whoopee), and do this work on an as-needed basis as the orders come in. I also do some scroll-sawing work and some fabric crafts, but they seem to have taken a backseat to the woodworking, lasering, and turning lately.

David (LOML) has been doing some form of woodworking since his teens, and I got into it when I quickly determined that the only way to spend any quality time with my spouse was to be in the garage/shop with him. I started out small – sanding, holding, catching – then moved on to helping him with finishing. We do custom furniture and cabinetry – when we can get the commissions – and we build all our own furniture and cabinetry. We've had a side business for as long as we've been married. Now we work together on designing things and in the shop building things. We also have the laser business which we acquired a couple of years ago which is starting to be our primary business. David also gives "woodworking lessons" to a couple of friends, and he repairs machinery when called upon.

There's a lot more, which you can read here: http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=59082&highlight=evolved

Nancy (75 days)

Jim Kountz
10-07-2007, 7:53 PM
Wow Nancy thats so cool that the two of you can spend quality time together in the SHOP no less, what a lucky pair you are!!

julie Graf
10-07-2007, 8:38 PM
interesting question - why does it matter really?