PDA

View Full Version : Question for those that grow strawberries...

Jonathon Spafford
10-06-2007, 5:55 PM
Well, I have all these strawberry plants that I planted earlier in the spring and they're all in pots on the porch. Anyway, they have all these vines growing out of them in all different directions and I don't know what to do with them. I have already put two of the vines in new pots and they are growing new plants. My first question is when do I cut the vine attaching the new shoot to the main plant? My second question is should I cut the extra vines back so that their aren't a bunch of these shoots drawing from the main plant?

I was also wonder what I should do with these plants in the winter? Just bring 'em inside the garage or what? It can get really cold over here and I don't want these to die!

Bonnie Campbell
10-06-2007, 6:58 PM
I'm no expert, but I clip the starts off and just push them into the dirt to root. Always take more than you think you'll need because all won't make it. Once the starts have established a set of good leaves they can be cut off the mother plant.

Unless you get a good amount of freezing Gorge winds, I would think you could just leave the plants outside. Since they're in pots put them on the most protected side of the house. I had strawberries in Clatskanie and I just left them out. They always seemed to survive. But, if not sure, and you've got the room, you could garage them. If you've a low evergreen you could group the pots under it for the winter too.

David G Baker
10-06-2007, 10:47 PM
I am not sure where the name "strawberry" came from but my Grandmother always covered her plants with a thick covering of "straw". She lived in lower Michigan and the Winters there can be pretty fierce at times. Her plants survived and produced a bunch of berries. I do not know about how they hold up in containers in freezing temperatures.

Leigh Costello
10-06-2007, 11:27 PM