PDA

View Full Version : I almost hate to show this...

Bill Huber
10-05-2007, 11:47 AM
Because its so plan and simple compared to most I have seen posted here.

I have finished my first jewelry box, its not much and it sure is not fancy like a lot that I have seen posted here....
I am making 2 just alike, one for each daughter, I have the first one finished and the second one should be done this weekend.

Again, nothing really fancy, purpleheart and maple. (left overs from cutting boards) The top is a glue up and the sides are inlays. I used box joints because I am not that good at dovetails yet and I didn't want to screw up that nice wood.

The tray slides are maple, I started out with purpleheart but I thought it needed some more color in the box so I change it to maple. The bottom of the of the box and the bottom of the try are velvet and foam glued to some matt board from Hobby Lobby.

I guess the idea is to learn from each thing you build until you get good at it. I will have to say a did learn a lot from these boxes. With the help of all the member here, I learned how to glue up a small box with rubber bands, how to install those 95 degree hinges, installing the locks are no big deal, and much much more.

Again thanks to all for the help.

73080 73081

Doug Shepard
10-05-2007, 11:49 AM
I'd say you hit a home run. It looks great.

Jim W. White
10-05-2007, 11:51 AM
Looks great!! ....very nice work.

I am sure your daughters will be elated!

James Walling
10-05-2007, 11:54 AM
Looks wonderful, nothing to be ashamed of.

Ted Calver
10-05-2007, 11:56 AM
Plain and simple floats my boat. You did a great job!

Mike Vermeil
10-05-2007, 12:13 PM
Real nice! Simple is most often better in my book.

Lee Schierer
10-05-2007, 12:31 PM
Nice job. It looks great from here!

Lee

Cary Swoveland
10-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Very nice, Bill. What finish did you use?

Cary

Ed Falis
10-05-2007, 12:32 PM
Very nice! There's another word for "plain and simple" too: "elegant".

Larry Fox