PDA

View Full Version : starting out

Mike Steinhilper
10-02-2007, 8:59 AM
Hi everyone.... I've been woodworking as a hobby for a few years, and I've used mainly power tools. I found myself spending more time buying and building jigs than actually producing anything. Not to mention wasting a lot of wood with mistakes. And the noise and dust. I'm thinking about saving the power tools for carpentry, and moving toward hand tools for my special stuff. I don't build anything huge... small boxes, end tables, drawers, etc. Right now I have a 5 piece set of Craftsman chisels which I try to keep sharp. I have one small block plane, and a larger (can't remember the number) jack plane. A cheapo backsaw and a coping saw. What, at the very minimum, will I need to make hand tools my primary tools?

Raney Nelson
10-02-2007, 9:45 AM
Hi everyone.... I've been woodworking as a hobby for a few years, and I've used mainly power tools. I found myself spending more time buying and building jigs than actually producing anything. Not to mention wasting a lot of wood with mistakes. And the noise and dust. I'm thinking about saving the power tools for carpentry, and moving toward hand tools for my special stuff. I don't build anything huge... small boxes, end tables, drawers, etc. Right now I have a 5 piece set of Craftsman chisels which I try to keep sharp. I have one small block plane, and a larger (can't remember the number) jack plane. A cheapo backsaw and a coping saw. What, at the very minimum, will I need to make hand tools my primary tools?

whew - this is just what I set out to do a year ago. It is astonishing to me what I've cqiured since then, and how much my CC has suffered.

My advice would be to do just what is recommended when starting out power tool woodworking: pick a simple handtool project, and purchase whatever tools you need for that project. A simple project, such as one of those from PWW's "I can do that" series, is a great place to start working with handtools.