PDA

View Full Version : Real Noob Questions

Anchor Sarslow
09-30-2007, 2:16 PM
Hello All,

I am very new to this forum and over the last several days of waiting to get approved for posting, I have done a lot of reading and learned more than I could have hoped for in such a short time. I want to thank all of you for being good enough to share your experiences so people like myself do not have to spend all of our time learing through trial and error..

My questions.. and they are noobish.

1. Do bench chisels typically have a double beveled edge? (one sided with 2 different degrees of bevel)

I have been trying to start making dovetails and went and bought a set of cheap Marples chisels from the local HD. The only chisel that had any kind of edge to it was the 1/4" so I have been using it a lot. I need to sharpen all of them.. and they look to have a double bevel. I have no experience with these tools. and want to try to do this correct the first time.

2. Any good literature or online explainations on good sharpening techniques?

3. As I tend to be overly purist and want to be a true neanderthal (read as cheap too) I intend to do all sharpening on stones and papers. However I do know that on occassion I am going to need a bench grinder or my sander to do some re-beveling. SO>. can I take a standard bench grinder ( Montgomery Wards circa 1960's 3400 rpm about) and put a dimmer switch on it to slow it down?

I will be back with more questions eventually, but think I shoud so a few more searches first.

Thank you all.

Zahid Naqvi
09-30-2007, 2:31 PM
This should get you started.

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=13599

As for the grinder, many people use regular grinders without slowing it down. You just have to be careful not to burn/overheat the edge. OTOH you can use a low grit 50/70 sandpaper (scary sharp) for the primary bevel adjustments. It will be slower but safer for the edge.