PDA

View Full Version : Finishing Schedule Advice for Honduras Mahogany Cabinet Tops

Trish Greenaway
09-29-2007, 8:37 PM
Hello, I'm a hobbyist cabinet builder and need some advice from the pros. I just brought home 50 board feet of wide plank, patterned Honduras mahogany that I plan to use as the cabinet tops for some bedroom cabinetry I just finished. I spent a small fortune for the lumber (didn't dare tell my husband), and don't want to make any bad decisions in my finishing schedule. The boards are planed, and are currently waiting to be glued up.

I'm planning on using Target Coatings--I've purchased the following Target products to date: Umber Grain Filler, Walnut Stain, USL Satin (Clear) Lacquer. I've also purchased some Flamowood Solvent based wood filler to repair any worm holes/voids in the boards.

I have a Fuji 4 Stage HVLP turbine for spray equipment.

I am staining the wood a walnut color.

Would appreciate any / all advice as to whether I need a wash coat prior to staining this species, and if so, what to use. Would also appreciate recommendations on an overall schedule, including sanding.

Thank you,
Trish

Jim Becker
09-29-2007, 10:15 PM
Trish, welcome to SMC.

I guess I have to admit I'm curious as to why you want to stain that beautiful (and expensive) mahogany with the "walnut" stain? (And real walnut gets to be a golden brown as it ages...walnut gets lighter over time and rarely looks like most of the stains/dyes that take their name from it)

That said, you need to take some scrap of the material you are using, sand/scrap/plane it to the same quality as your project and then do tests of your full regimen to see if it's what you want things to look like. Do NOT attempt this on the real project. The idea is to work things out first, taking careful notes, so you can duplicate a successful result later. And do take notice that you must go all the way including at least a coat or two of your top coat, in this case the USL.

Steve Schoene