PDA

View Full Version : Assembling Shop Tools: Advice needed

John Karam
09-28-2007, 3:56 AM
(I Ranted On, Feel Free To skip to the Bolded Sections :-)

Hello everyone, I'm new here. I've been reading the forums for a little while and must say I have found a lot of interesting information here. You all have done a great job at creating a very educational community. A little about myself, I'm a college student who enjoys woodworking. I consider it something that will be a serious hobby of mine in the future, starting as soon as I get my tools. I prefer to build fine furniture with interesting designs. I like to design what I build as well.

I'm posting tonight because I have been doing the necessary research in picking out my core tools for the shop I'm putting together and I find myself, like many others, worried I'm going to make the wrong choices. I will be using the shop in my spare time, once I'm finished with school I shall have a lot more time (I HOPE!). I want to keep this as a hobby but I could see my self building a few pieces on the side for friends and family (or whoever else would ask me to). I'm very much a quality freak, in my work and in my tools (I tend to measure my pieces several thousand times before cutting anything and I have trouble buying anything less then the best:o).

I have a basic Ridgid table saw and though I would like to upgrade to a really nice cabinet saw I'm holding out on it for now to see how far this one can take me. My designs tend to include a lot of curvature so I need an excellent band saw. I've little experience with the lathe though I would like to get into it. I looking to purchase a Jointer, Planer, Band Saw, Drill Press, and Spindle Sander. Also want to get a Router Table setup for my router, though I've heard (around here) that it may be better to build my own, and a Hollow Chisel Mortiser but I know I can do fine without one.