PDA

View Full Version : Which Band Saw - Steel City or Grizzly?

David Weaver
09-27-2007, 8:04 AM
That's basically the entire question. Saw is likely to be no bigger than an 18 inch saw - no monsters needed. Just need something mainly to do basic resawing in a hobbyist shop.

Which is better? Which is the better value? The front-runner seems to be the G0513X.

Have no real good idea where to get a Steel City saw from in PA, and am located in Pittsburgh. No truck available to pick up a saw, and no desire to drive to Allentown to get one.

Russ Mullins
09-27-2007, 8:58 AM
I'm no expert, and I haven't comparison shopped the various brands. I bought the G0513X late last year for a resaw saw only. Earlier this summer, I set it up with a good 3/4" resaw blade. Using the resaw fence that came with the saw, I got great results with my first attempt at resawing. Nice clean cut, no drift.

Rod Sheridan
09-27-2007, 9:16 AM
Hi David, I've owned a General International 90-240 17" bandsaw for 4 years, and am very pleased with it.

Last week, I was at my machinery supplier, and he had a Steel City 50250 sitting beside the GI machine.

The Steel city has blade guides that don't require tools, and takes a 1 1/4" blade, as opposed to the 1" on the GI. The Steel City and the GI mostly have the same design, with the SC being a little nicer in some aspects. (It's nice to be the newer design, you can copy what you want, reject what you want). One item to note is that both use a motor with a run capacitor, reducing their input current to 11 or 12 amperes, compared to 20 for the Grizzly (Model G0513X2) with the same motor (2 HP).