PDA

View Full Version : Crosscut sled

Matt P
09-25-2007, 12:36 PM
I am a newbie, making mitered-corner jewelry boxes, and will be cutting small boards about 5" wide x 9" long x 1/2" thick (sides of the box). If I am going to make 45-degree bevel cuts on a benchtop table saw, can I just use the miter gauge to make the crosscuts, or should I make/buy a "crosscut sled". Note that the crosscut sled would have to have the kerf cut be a bevel cut, so I would have to dedicate the crosscut sled to bevel cuts.. does that make sense?

I don't want overkill if I can just use the miter gauge...

thanks,
Matt

frank shic
09-25-2007, 12:54 PM
boards of that width are pretty easy to cut with a miter gauge although the quality of your cut will vary greatly depending on what gauge you are using. building a crosscut sled will definitely improve the quality of your cuts with a little bit more investment of time or fund$. regardless of which system you use, you would definitely want to have adjustable stops to make identical cuts for your box parts.

BTW welcome!

Lee Schierer
09-25-2007, 12:55 PM
Either method should work just fine. Your critical adjustment will be getting the tilt at exactly 45 degrees. If you are off you will have gaps in your joints. My suggestion is to cut the pieces longer than needed and fit them together without glue to insure a perfect fit at all four corners at the same time. Once you have all four corners mating without a gap, then trim the pieces to the correct length. You also need to insure that opposite sides of the box are exactly the same length.

Note: Corner joints with toe or heel gaps are not as strong and don't look as nice as properly fitted parts.

Mike Golka
09-25-2007, 2:22 PM