PDA

View Full Version : Glue up & clean up

Mark Hultzapple
09-19-2007, 10:05 PM
Hi all,
I'm still rather new to woodworking and I have a newbie question. I recently build a cradle with many spindles for the sides and end panels. In the plans epoxy was recommended for the extended working time necessary to align spindles during glue up. I had read to use thinner to clean the epoxy squeeze out prior to it setting up. It seemed to be working well. I sanded well around the spindles and thought I was in good shape. I even used naptha to look for missed glue spots. I used stain preconditioner to eliminate uneven absorption of the stain but when the stain was applied the areas I had cleaned and sanded were visibly lighter than the rest of the project. What did I do wrong? What is the proper method to clean up both yellow glue and Epoxy over flow? Should I have applied tape around the spindles to catch squeeze out?

Carl Oresick
09-19-2007, 10:32 PM
I too am rather new to woodworking, but in high school woodshop we were taught to let the glue run out and dry - do not smear it. Then we removed it with a hand scraper. By not smearing it it wasn't forced into the pores and came off easily. This was with white glue at the time (Elmer's).

Greg Crawford
09-19-2007, 10:42 PM
I use Titebond III and the method Carl suggests. Has worked well for me for years.

Gary Breckenridge
09-19-2007, 10:50 PM
:( Glue fills the pores of wood and also seals preventing the stain from absorbing into the wood. Using lots of solvent will seep into and possibly weaken the glue joint. The trick is to keep the glue 1/4" away from the surface. This is impossible with expanding Gorilla Glue and its cousins.:) Glue up some joinery samples and have a look at how glue does or does not seep out.:)

Mark Hultzapple
09-20-2007, 8:59 PM