PDA

View Full Version : turning bowls

Sam Starr
09-16-2007, 12:08 AM
Hi everyone I have been turning a few pens and would like to try my hand at a bowl or two however I only have a face plate. can you tell me how to mount my blank. this is my first time not turning between centers:rolleyes:

thank you all in advance:D

Jude Kingery
09-16-2007, 12:48 AM
Hi Sam, yes, I did that for a couple of years before I bought a good chuck so I could reverse chuck bowls and have feet on the bottoms. But with only a face plate you can do a nice bowl with a flat bottom instead of a foot. I use a waste block glued to your blank that you want to turn. (Craft Supplies sells them pretty cheaply). Then screw your face plate into the waste block and so the bottom of your bowl is glued to the waste block and then you do it all at once, turn your outside contour, hollow, and part it off the waste block. Then sand the bottom of your bowl on your table sander. If you decide to get a chuck, you can do it just the opposite. Screw your face plate into what will be the top of your bowl, turn the bottom, put a tenon or foot on it, then reverse chuck it on the tenon and hollow it out that way. Either way is fine. Best of luck, let us know! Jude

Ken Fitzgerald
09-16-2007, 12:55 AM
Sam.......Jude gives some pretty sage advice but I'll add a twist to it.

You can make a donut chuck to use on your face plate and turn the "flat" bottom to any shape you want.

Good luck!

Jude Kingery
09-16-2007, 1:54 AM
Ken! See? I learn something new every day. Thanks, I never thought of doing it that way! I'll have to give it a whirl! Jude

joe greiner
09-16-2007, 10:16 AM